My Husband, the Comedian

Jimmy has devoted his life to making people laugh. He’s put his heart and soul into it. Only the most tenacious and driven of us can throw themselves so wholeheartedly into something they love. We should all aspire to find that thing that lights our fire; that drives us to want to be our best selves for the sake of our crafts.

Jimmy Comedy Club

He works so hard. For a career of bringing people joy, he takes comedy incredibly seriously. But he’s also the most fun ever on stage. I love seeing him crack a smile when he says something he knows is going to make the audience cringe, and it seems every man, woman and child on Earth has heard his distinct, vibrantly charismatic “Ha hah!” I can’t do it, but I can tell you it’s really cute.

I look back at all of his show posters — his benefit shows like Laughs for Lifebox and The Night of Too Many Hardee Har-Hars, which he gave so much to out of the goodness of his heart. I think of his late night live talk show After Bedtime with Jimmy LeChase, and of the half-dozen open mics he’s put on for comedians to practice their craft weekly, over the years, and of the many young comics he’s mentored along the way. I think of the many shows he’s had a hand in producing, and promoting, and creating, and supporting too, and I have to admit I’m a bit slack-jawed. Jimmy has touched more lives than I could ever dream of, one laugh at a time. And he’s only just beginning.

Mike Gifalfi, Mark Normand & Jimmy LeChase at the Comedy Club

Boys being boys: Mike Gifalfi, Mark Normand & Jimmy LeChase at the Comedy Club

I’ll admit that I’m his biggest fan. But the progress he’s made and the impact he’s had in just a few short years blows my mind. I’ve fallen in love with all of it too — with the seats behind the stage where we can high-five the comedians coming off stage, and the playful banter and words of encouragement that take place outside of the limelight; with the feeling of accomplishment and camaraderie when the crew puts on a good show. I’ll always look back on the cool fall nights on the patio during Sunday Boulder nights fondly, where we huddled around the picnic table and talked at length about nothing for hours on end.

We’ve grown to love the NYC comedy scene too, which is much, much bigger but equally as warm and inviting, once you find your niche. Our new comedy home away from home is a hotel/make-shift showroom in SoHo called Brit Pack. It’s full of surprisingly humble up-and-comers, who work incredibly hard and are some of the more sincere people you’ll ever meet.

Jimmy produces monthly shows here and his next Mouth Party Show is coming up Nov. 25, which I’m very much looking forward to, since I’m sadly missing his Rochester feature spots at the Comedy Club with David Koechner.

Today is Jimmy’s birthday, and while I wish I were back at our old stomping grounds with him I’m wishing him lots of love from afar. I’m so proud of who he is, and what he’s done, and I love him more and more everyday.

Happy Birthday, Handsome! See you real soon.

This entry was published on November 15, 2014 at 1:55 pm. It’s filed under The Engagement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

