All of My (Mix Tape) Love to You

It was 5:30 p.m. on a Friday, and I was headed home for the couch. I plunked down into my automobile and turned up the volume. The soulful sounds of Michael Kiwanuka had been pacifying to listen to lately, but heck, it was Friday night. And darned if I didn’t want to live it up for that two-mile drive from work to the house.

I yanked out a couple of CDs jammed into my console and off popped the CD case cover of the Go! Team‘s Proof of Youth. I rescued the CD from its unprotected fate and thrust it into the CD player. I juggled the other CDs before tossing them into the side seat for further assessment and rocked my girly heart out for 30 seconds and pulled up to the house.

Love this cover image from the Head and the Heart.

Love this cover image from the Head and the Heart.

It occurred to me then that I needed a music make-over: A fresh start to the CD goodness gone awry with disorganization. Those CDs deserved better, even if they were just some old burned CDs. They all meant something, and had been with me for everything from past road trips to doctor’s visits. I stacked them up into my ginormous bag and lugged them to the door.

And here they sit, and here I stand. The time has come to listen to some amazing shit. And I’m so glad I get to share it with you. And together, we can write about it, and enjoy it, like it was meant to be.

So in the spirit of an honorary Kate Escape Book Club book “Love is a Mix Tape,” let’s get down to music playing.

What are your faves as of late? Here are mine:

Behold, the Alabama Shakes. This woman can f-in sing.

“The Rifle’s Spiral” by the Shins

“Breezeblocks” by Alt-J, who seems to be everywhere right now.

“Lost in My Mind” (aka the story of my life) by the Head and the Heart. This song is impossible not to sing aloud to.

“Little Hearts” by Of Monsters and Men makes my heart feel big, you silly song.

This entry was published on January 18, 2013 at 9:29 pm. It’s filed under Inspiration, Kate Escape, love, Married Life, The Engagement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

