Thanks for the Quotes, Past Self

New office, filled with old memories

New office, filled with old memories

I have a vague recollection of pulling this treasure trove of quality quotes together several months ago. I don’t remember where I found them or how much I polished the list you’ll find below. But I know that the act of searching for inspirational quotes about transition, progress and assuredness did me a whole lot of good. Shortly after drafting this post in late August, I cast it aside in favor of writing a post about something which, at the time, felt much bigger: our trip to Atlantic City.

Labor Day Weekend in Atlantic City was a pretty big pivotal time in my life. Transition and movement were afoot. A.C. was our second of two cross-state weekend trips — a big deal for a couple that never travels. Plus, I knew I’d be returning to an entirely new 9-5 experience after the holiday weekend, with the start of a new job. At the time, I was more focused on grabbing new experiences by the horns than on reflecting on the exciting but scary road I was about to embark upon.

I discovered this forgotten post today, whilst perusing the wreckage of old ideas. And I’m so grateful to my past self for gathering the gems listed below, where ever it is I found them.

As we trudge into 2013, I’ve needed some good, solid wisdom to glom onto — something to ease my mind away from the daunting New Year’s expectations I’ve set for myself and onto safer ground. These clever reminders are just what I need to focus my attention inward and begin to hash out just who the hell I am and how much I really want to change. It’s much better than a laundry list of imperfections to fix — that’s for sure.

I have no answers as to how to find peace with yourself as you forge ahead, but if you’re looking for some insight, this might be the place:

You grow up the day you have your first real laugh at yourself – Ethel Barrymore.

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams. – Eleanor Roosevelt.

You grow up the day you have your first real laugh at yourself – Ethel Barrymore.

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams. – Eleanor Roosevelt.

The secret of getting ahead is getting started. – Sally Berger.

We can do no great things, only small things with great love. – Mother Teresa.

Our deepest wishes are whispers of our authentic selves. We must learn to respect them. We must learn to listen. – Sarah Ban Breathnach.

There are two ways of spreading light. To be the candle, or the mirror that reflects it. – Edith Wharton.

Success is getting what you want, happiness is wanting what you get. – Ingrid Bergman.

Poster created by a good friend and pseudo art from yours truly in the new digs

Poster created by a good friend and pseudo art from yours truly in the new digs

The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any. – Alice Walker.

The most courageous act is still to think for yourself. Aloud. – Coco Chanel.

And the trouble is, if you don’t risk anything, you risk more. – Erica Jong.

The thing that is really hard, and really amazing, is giving up on being perfect and beginning the work of becoming yourself. – Anna Quindlen.

Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage. – Anais Nin.

Always remember you’re unique, just like everyone else. – Alison Boulter.

When everything’s coming your way, you’re in the wrong lane. – Steven Wright.

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn’t. – Erica Jong.

This entry was published on January 8, 2013 at 11:26 pm. It’s filed under Inspiration, Listless Thursdays, Married Life, The Engagement, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Thanks for the Quotes, Past Self

  1. Pingback: This Must Be Sauer Place | This Must Be Sauer Place (formerly bridefied)

  2. Pingback: Same Me, New Year: Stop Resolving to Turn a New Leaf | The Kate Escape

  3. Pingback: Same Me, New Year: Stop Resolving to Turn a New Over Leaf | The Kate Escape

Leave a Reply

