10 Songs I Need on My Wedding Day

We all have our favorite songs. Those songs that make our way into our hearts because they are timeless, and they make us feel, and if we’re extra lucky, they bring us back to those special moments in our lives that we tuck away for safe keepings.

  1. Diggin’ Me
  2. This Must Be the Place
  3. Dance Yrself Clean
  4. Northern Sky
  5. All My Friends
  6. Let Your Love Grow Tall
  7. Home
  8. Ziggy Stardust
  9. Mr. Blue Sky
  10. True Love Will Find You in the End

Jimmy and I, we fell in love to Nick Drake’s Northern Sky. I remember sitting up in his room, with candles lit, telling him, in awe, how I’d just discovered this unknown musical genius too. We looked at each other, and something in me knew this was the beginning of something big.

We decided we were in it for the long hual when we agreed to the long distance thing. I headed back to Skidmore, and he’d come up to my tiny little dorm room, and we’d fiddle our thumbs and waste time together. We’d sing and dance and talk about the world and often, we’d talk about us. Our wedding song, it was decided, was destined to be “Diggin’ Me” by Martin Sexton.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (more in-depth post here) was the most heartfelt love story we’d ever seen, and for a long time, when we were no longer together, I’d watch the movie and would be so glad I couldn’t erase him — we’d had such good times together. “Mr. Blue Sky” by the Electric Light Orchestra reminds me of where I was, what I have, and what I almost lost.

Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou came out on DVD when we were heavily into a Bill Murray flurry — Lost in Translation, the Royal Tenenbaums, Rushmore and of course, Jimmy’s personal favorite, Caddy Shack. It was all good. I remember, in particular, one profoundly sad moment when Steve Zissou parts with his ex-wife that gutted me after we’d broken up. I loved ruminating in that moment when the characters go their separate ways though. It made me sad, but somehow made me feel better too. Seu Jorge’s remarkable rendition of David Bowie classics in Portuguese always reminds me of those moments we spent watching this peculiarly lovely movie. Also, I had a fish named Ziggy (Stardust) that Jimmy took care of when I was living in New York City.

“Dance Yrself Clean” by LCD Soundsystem makes us both infinity happy. The unofficial video, in particular, is one of our favorites to revisit. With the Muppets (which hearkens back to our blissful days of childhood) dancing around Brighton Beach (a place I visited while studying abroad in England) to one of our favorite artists, the incredible LCD Soundsystem, how can you go wrong?

Passion Pit’s “Let Your Love Grow Tall” is, admittedly, more of a personal mantra of me (and among one of my first blog post topics). I just love that imagery, and it reminds me of our upcoming special day (next week! When did that happen?), where we’ll exchange our vows outside, below the elegant, towering trees of Oak Hill Country Club.

When I think about all the happy faces of the people I love most in the world, coming together to celebrate with us, I think of LCD Soundsystem’s “All My Friends.” LCD adeptly captures the magic of reliving those crazy moments of our youth for one last blow-out party. While this won’t be the last time we’ll get to be with our friends, it’s the song I always play when I’m driving back home from a great college friend gathering at my good old alma mater, Skidmore College, and it reminds me that we’ve got to live in the moment and soak up every second of it while we can.

And then there’s “Home,” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes. Our save the date video was set to this music with photos of us on our Negative One anniversary in Highland Park, just about one year ago. Jimmy is, always has been, and always will be, my home.

“This Must Be the Place” by the Talking Heads has a whimsical vibe that we just can’t seem to shake. We’ve found ourselves revisiting this classic time and time again, and while there are new versions and covers with Arcade Fire and MGMT, they pale, in comparison to the genuine beauty of the original. We and our wedding party are being introduced with this wonderful tune, and I can’t imagine a more fitting entrance song, as we take the stage for the first time as man and wife.

Finally, to cap up the top 10 list, I have to end with a particularly sentimental one. Daniel Johnston’s “True Love Will Find You in the End,” sung in his high-pitched, childish voice, but with the wise words of an old man looking back on life and promising love, has always had a special place in our hearts.

Well, folks, that’s it. Music has played such an integral role in my life, and as I look back on these songs that tell the story of our relationship, I’m filled with happiness, hope, and most importantly, endless and infinite love.

This entry was published on May 10, 2012 at 7:55 am. It’s filed under Inspiration, Our Story, spring wedding, The Engagement, wedding and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “10 Songs I Need on My Wedding Day

  1. Pingback: Bicycle Diaries: Looking into the Mind of a Genius, from the Bike Lane | Sauer Place (formerly bridefied)

  2. Pingback: This Must Be Sauer Place | This Must Be Sauer Place (formerly bridefied)

Leave a Reply

