I’ve Always Fancied Design

Courtesy of Minted.com, Etsy and StyleMePretty

So way back when, in another post, long, long ago and far, far away, I divulged the details of my artistic demise. In other words, I explained that the super talented art kids at Skidmore College intimidated me (unintentionally, of course) out of the last art class I vowed I’d ever take. I was friends with many a studio art major, mind you, but peer review among a group of talented budding artists can be brutal.

At any rate, I digress. I have my silly little art projects and I’m learning more about design through work and talking with friends and family, but mainly through ogling interesting designs on Pinterest, Etsy and the Interwebs. As is evidenced by my new fetish for inspiration boards, I’m dabbing with Gimp, too.

Luckily for me, I can leave the real design work for my wedding to the experts, and it just so happens, that the experts are in my family. My super awesome brother was in town a week ago, and showed Jimmy and I the rough cut of our Save the Date video. There were tears and smiles all over the place. And my creative marketing designer dad is going to help me with the design for invitations and print materials. He’s also helping me create a PDF to attach the link to the Save the Date video to. All good stuff.

I love that I can harness the incredible powers of the people I love most in the world, to invite the people I care about most in the world to come see the marriage of me and my best friend. As we transition from the inspiration-gathering period into the period when we have to bring the real “look” come to life, I feel more certain than ever that working with loved ones will be the best way for Jimmy and I to show our true colors. And in the end, that’s really all we’re going for – an honest depiction of where we are, where we’ve been and hopefully, if we’re lucky, the slightest hint as to where we’re heading next.

To all those design admirers out there, feel free to send some more inspiration love my way :)

This entry was published on October 5, 2011 at 8:10 am. It’s filed under diy wedding, Inspiration, Love the Look, spring wedding, The Engagement, wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

