Behold, the Land of Opulence, or, My First Trip to Wine Country

It seemed like eons had passed since we’d first discussed plans to take our bride-to-be buddy around on a Finger Lakes wine tour. But the time had come, and there I was, boarding the bus for a day of bachelorette fun. It was perfect, really. Our friend is getting married in less than a month now, and she’d managed to bring the beautiful backdrop of the Finger Lakes to the forefront of her journey to the altar. With a Seneca Lake shower under her wing, a homey honeymoon on the horizon and a fiance from the region,  what could be more fitting than a hen party wine tour?

I’d heard about the magical, mystery winery tour for years and as we rocked it to the likes of Cee-Lo while our limo bus driver made his way through wine country, I stopped trying to imagine what the adult version of a trip to Willy Wonka land might entail, and starting enjoying myself. I gravitated to the back of the bus, where all the cool kids used to sit back in the day, and chatted it up with my Mercy grad girls as we munched on veggies.

As many of your faithful readers (who I’m ever appreciate of) can testify, I’m a locavore to the core, so I thoroughly enjoyed passing through the Seneca Lake wineries, tasting samples and learning about the Rieslings and sweet wines that flourish in our sometimes (aka semi-year round) chilly climate. We made our way through White Springs, Fox Run, Anthony Road, Torrey Ridge and Glenora wineries, gazing down at the expansive Seneca Lake from on high, and giggling all the while at silly antics with my gal pals. Boarding the limo bus had brought me back to our junior year prom, and it felt good to be back among old friends that I don’t catch up with nearly often enough.

I loved trying to ask important-sounding questions, like, “Does my tempered palette detect a smack of…,” which really never got beyond, “What’s your favorite, miss?” But despite my borderline ineptitude when it comes to the subtleties of wine-tasting, it’s safe to say that I learned a little more and had a whole lot of fun. For anyone looking for a great day in a beautiful area with your lady friends (and male counterparts, if they’re up for it), I highly suggest you take a trip to the wine mecca of Upstate New York and without breaking the bank, you, too, can indulge in the sweet taste of opulence.

This entry was published on September 19, 2011 at 7:39 am. It’s filed under diy wedding, Inspiration, spring wedding, The Engagement, wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Behold, the Land of Opulence, or, My First Trip to Wine Country

  1. Pingback: Owl House: Food, Glorious Food (Now Serving Brunch) « bridefied

  2. Pingback: A Balmy, Bountiful Harvest with Loved Ones – What More Could One Ask For? « bridefied

Leave a Reply

