This Relationship is Awesome Sauce

Parks and Recreation‘s Andy and April are two of my most favorite people on TV. They’re playful and careless in a way that makes us all remember how wonderful it is to be in a puppy dog relationship, and how everything else seems to fade away when you’re with the person you care about most in the world. As with most TV romances, it took a few seasons for April and Andy to overcome relationship obstacles and to finally get together, but during the last episode, the young love birds excitedly gathered family and friends to hold a “surprise” wedding ceremony. (The wedding wasn’t much of a surprise because the adorable duo excitedly shared their news before the ceremony.)

Similarly, Future Husband spilled the beans of April and Andy’s surprise marriage to me before we saw the episode, by sending me a link to the couple’s fake wedding site. We don’t have a TV, so we watch episodes we like on Hulu the day after they air. After we had returned from an “awesome sauce” Friday night date night at our favorite  restaurant the Owl House, Jimmy and I snuggled up and “aww”ed as we watched the young couple their exchange vows.

April: “I guess I kind of hate most things. But I never really seem to hate you. So I want to spend the rest of my life with you, is that cool?”

Andy: “I want to spend the rest of my life, every minute, with you. And I’m the luckiest man in the galaxy.”

Pretty genuine for a TV show romance, if you ask me. Though I think of them as young, they’re really not. Jimmy and I are about the same age as the fictional characters, but we feel so much older. Whenever we go to weddings or hear about friends’ relationships, I feel a bit grandmotherly, and like we’re an old couple looking on in adoration at two young love birds. Before Jimmy proposed, I had felt like we were an old married couple in the best way possible. We had seen the best and worst in one another, and had come out stronger because of it. It’s funny how our new status as a betrothed duo has reignited the cutesy-ness in us.

We watched April and Andy say “yes,” donned in a summer dress and favorite football jersey, and I think we were both reminded that the details of the wedding are irrelevant, really. We want to throw the best party possible for family and friends, but it’s so essential to stay grounded in the fact that in the end, it’s really all about celebrating with the people we care about most. And that’s pretty awesome sauce.

This entry was published on April 19, 2011 at 5:42 pm. It’s filed under The Engagement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “This Relationship is Awesome Sauce

  1. i love this show! they are hilarious

  2. Pingback: Couch Potatoes for the Win: Learning to be Good at Storytelling | The Kate Escape

Leave a Reply

