Weekend Craftiness

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I mentioned in my previous post, weekends are my favorite. I get a chance to attempt to exercise my creative energy through various projects, which started with scrapbook-making and decoupage in my younger years and have evolved into DIY holiday cards, amateur photo taking and now, my newest endeavor: preparatory wedding-related crafts.

After a nearly two hour trip to JoAnn Fabrics, which entailed a whole lot of wandering around and gazing at projects in search of something I could actually successfully complete, I made my way to the register with some ink stamps and a calligraphy set. I have some leftover card stock from my holiday cards project, which I’ll use to practice the stamps on another time. This weekend, I did a little bit of playing around with my calligraphy set, but I mainly tried sewing cloth flowers with old fabric – a fun activity that ended up being very satisfying and relatively easy to accomplish.

I know I’m probably going to use ivory, icy blue and dark silver flowers for the wedding, but I had a ton of lovely, romantic red fabric that seemed perfect for a pre-Valentine’s Day activity. I got the idea from one of my favorite wedding blogs, Style Me Pretty, and it was submitted by Posh Paperie. Here are the instructions. They actually looked pretty impressive, if I don’t say so myself. I was feeling so ambitious at my hand-sewing skills, I jumped at the chance to make my fiance a dark red courdoroy neck tie for his open mic comedy gig tonight at Boulder Coffee. Sadly, the sewing machine was not cooperating, so that project went kaput, but the good news is, I’ll have another challenge to take on next weekend so bring it, sewing machine that doesn’t want to behave. For the time being, I’ll consider the cloth flowers and beginning attempts at calligraphy a sufficient amount of weekend craftiness. Mission accomplished.

This entry was published on January 23, 2011 at 11:23 pm. It’s filed under Inspiration, The Engagement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Weekend Craftiness

  1. Pingback: Forget the Flowers « bridefied

Leave a Reply

