Why a Winter Wedding? Why Not?

Photo from greenweddingshoes.com, taken by Jasmine Star

I look forward to autumn every year. There’s no time of year that demands attention quite as loudly as when a bright blue sky settles behind the rusted colors of crumpled, falling leaves. I can’t help but guffaw at the landscape, especially when my future husband and I are being the good kind of pet owners that let their dog roam the rolling hills of Highland Park or Mt. Hope Cemetery.

That being said, I wouldn’t so much say I have had my heart set on a fall wedding, or any type of wedding for that matter. Let’s just say I’m not so much keen on details, so I tend not to commit to plans unless I really have to. I’m quickly learning that wedding planning means definitively nailing down a mind-numbing amount of tiny little details, which are somehow supposed to weave into an intricately laid overarching theme. Unfortunately, I wasn’t born a Coen brother…but I digress.

The point is, I’m not stuck on any details, and neither is my future hubbie. We’re kind of throwing ideas out there and seeing what sticks, which I love. So when my F-Hub asked, “Hey F-Dubs, can we do our wedding on 9/11?” I answered, “Absolutely not.”  But when he suggested winter, I paused, and slowly began warming up to the idea.  Why not embrace the winter instead of bracing for it? Our thoughts for fall 2012, which would have given us a lot more time, have tentatively been scrapped for a February-ish 2012 wedding. So hey friends and family members, consider yourselves warned.

This entry was published on January 1, 2011 at 2:11 pm. It’s filed under Inspiration, The Engagement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Why a Winter Wedding? Why Not?

  1. Aunt Elsa on said:

    I love winter weddings! We were married 2/27/82 and cold as it was it was an absolutely perfect day. The sun shone, the snow glistened and I was marrying my best friend and the man of my dreams. Looking forward to your big day!

  2. Thanks for sharing, Aunt Elsa! I can’t believe it has been almost 30 years since you and Uncle Nick were married. Congratulations! It sounds like it was just beautiful. I don’t know whether you have any photos, but I’d love to see them sometime. Thanks again for seconding the winter wedding idea :)

  3. Pingback: Starting from Scratch: The Old Winter to Spring Switcheroo « bridefied

Leave a Reply

