It Begins…

I squealed an emphatic “YES!” cutting him off before he could finish asking the question I had so hoped to some day hear. I bounded toward my new fiance, squeezing him tightly, and wiped away tears of joy as he put the ring on my finger.

“Wait, what? What did you say?”

I stumbled back. Everything was happening in a blur. Why was my mind being so fuzzy? Get it together, Brain. Thinking with my heart was a lot more dizzying than I had thought it would be. I could barely comprehend what was going on. I needed to focus and start listening.

“I said do you like it?” he asked, referring to the ring. Of course I liked it. I loved it. I loved just about everything in that moment and tried to slow my mind down so I could appreciate what was going on. I looked at him and smiled.

We’ve been together for seven years, with the exception of a year and a half break, which seemed unquestionably final until we found one another again three years ago. Anyone seeking advice for managing a long distance relationship need only ask. Our love has literally transcended space and time — we’ve made it through living in different cities, states and continents. We’ve lived in Rochester’s best neighborhood for the past two years, the South Wedge, and have acquired a snow-loving husky, Vinnie, in the process of settling down. As far as I’m concerned, we’re well past starting a life together, and yet…

This one tiny, very costly token of affection that I’m terrified to lose has spun us into a different dimension of reality. The notion of planning a wedding, as we get started on the process, is both intimidating and exhilarating. Focusing on the journey to the altar seems like the most gratifying way to enjoy the engagement and retain my level of sanity.

I’m hoping to document my experiences along the way to share with family, friends and anyone else interested in to what’s sure to be a haphazard and highly amusing journey. And so, *deep breath* it begins…

This entry was published on December 30, 2010 at 5:12 pm and is filed under The Engagement. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “It Begins…

  1. Bogusia on said:

    Katie you’re so cute! You’re such a good writer, someday your blog can be pulled together and be published in a memoir :) Thanks for sharing, so excited for you!!

  2. Cynthia Pride Moore on said:

    Love the way you write and think Katie!! Congratulations again and so good to read that you are cherishing every moment of the process…

Leave a Reply

