Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

It’s been a long week. There were technical malfunctions at work, the unforgiving force of winter nearly helped me into car crashes on three separate occasions and uncertainties about future endeavors seemed to corner me at every turn.

I find that at the very beginning of any great journey, adversity strikes. Call it a test, coincidence or even wishful thinking, but whenever I take a wrong turn at the start to a big road trip, I’m convinced I’m embarking on an adventure worth taking, where the rewards will far outweigh the difficulties.

At Last

This past weekend set everything in its right place. The wedding ceremony and reception date and place that I had so been hoping to nail down are tentatively set; the “look” is coming together; shopping for wedding dresses could not have been more of a Disney-fied dream come true. Most importantly though, we’ve taken the first steps to get the people we love on the same page for our big day. I’m a people pleaser to the core, so knowing everyone is excited and happy means the world to me. For those of you like me who tend to get overly excited, take heed: it takes time to get the wheels of wedding planning in motion, but when everything starts coming together, it’s a glorious feeling. Things are on the up and up.

Dream wedding montage

Breath of Fresh Air

My uber trendy West Coast cousin Hilarie, owner of Uniquely Your Event, created two amazing Inspiration Boards out of ideas we had brainstormed together: Gray, Blue, green – spring (see above and below). I breathed a sigh of relief when I opened up this email. Seeing my nonsensical grouping of items woven into a cohesive vision has been incredibly gratifying. Thanks, cuz!

The Best has Yet to Come

We still have plenty of ideas I’ll need to keep in mind further down the line (e.g. crossword puzzle menus, mad lib programs, personalized wine labels, Arrested Development table names). For the time being though, I can take satisfaction in the fact that plans to tie the knot are steadily rolling along in the right direction. Jimmy and I are so fortunate to have such a wonderful support network of friends and family who have been helping us work through the beginning of this planning process. We simply can’t wait for what has yet to come.

This entry was published on February 28, 2011 at 4:09 am. It’s filed under Inspiration, The Engagement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

  1. Colleen on said:

    First I’m so glad you’re safe, but I love looking at your ideas, they just are so you, so cute and pretty. I see lots of music and homey touches in your wedding…just perfect

  2. Pingback: Love the Look: Tapping into the Traditional « bridefied

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

